Agricultural local road funding for Councils

The Victorian Government is supporting councils to undertake local road projects that improve access for the agriculture and food supply chain sector.

AgriLinks Upgrade Program (closed)

The $20 million AgriLinks Upgrade Program (AUP) is funding shovel-ready local road improvement projects to support jobs and bolster the state’s agri-food sector.

AUP provides rural, regional and interface councils with up to $350,000 for eligible road improvement projects. Additional funding is available on a co-contribution basis.

AUP is funding local road, intersection and bridge improvement projects that:

  • benefit the agriculture or food sector
  • are ‘shovel ready’
  • can be completed within 18 months of commencement.

The $20 million funding is part of the $2.7 billion Building Works package which is getting thousands of people back to work on crucial infrastructure projects.

Projects funded under AUP will strengthen business productivity, support local communities and assist Victorian farm businesses, agricultural supply-chains and agri-food producers to grow.

AUP opened in August 2020. All eligible councils have been provided information on AUP by Agriculture Victoria.

AUP supported 51 road and infrastructure projects.

AUP is now closed for applications.




Alpine Shire Council

Toms Road upgrade


Ararat Rural City Council

Delacombe Way upgrade


Ballarat City Council

Coghill Creek Road, Glendaruel


Bass Coast Shire Council

Grantville Glen Alvie Road heavy vehicle access improvements – stage 2


Baw Baw Shire Council

Jacksons Track Road reconstruction


Benalla Rural City Council

Firth Road, Benalla


Buloke Shire Council

Upgrade Nullawil-Birchip Road


Central Goldfields Shire Council

Dunolly Avoca Road – Upgrade Project


Colac–Otway Shire Council

Swan Marsh Stonyford Road Reconstruction – Sections 1, 2 and 3


Corangamite Shire Council

Terang Framlingham Road rehabilitation


East Gippsland Shire Council

Soldiers Road Agrilinks improvements


Golden Plains Shire Council

Meredith–Shelford Road widening


Greater Shepparton City Council

Davies Road upgrade


Hepburn Shire Council

Blampied Mollongghip Road Bridge strengthening

Intersection Upgrade at Glengower Road and Cotswald Road, Glengower


Hindmarsh Shire Council

Winiam East Road upgrade

Kiata North Road upgrade


Horsham Rural City Council

Horsham Lubeck Road Bridge strengthening

Wall Nursery Road reconstruction


Latrobe City Council

Flynn Creek Road, Flinn shoulder widening stage 3


Loddon Shire Council

Laanecoorie–Newbridge Road widening upgrade


Macedon Ranges Shire Council

Sidonia Road Widening and Reconstruction Project


Mansfield Shire Council

Aldous Road upgrade

Long Lane upgrade


Mildura Rural City Council

Wargan Road freight access upgrade


Mitchell Shire Council

Sugarloaf Creek Road upgrade


Moira Shire Council

Narang Road/Nuburkah Road heavy vehicle use upgrade – channel crossings


Moorabool Shire Council

Old Melbourne Road, Millbrook upgrade and widening


Mornington Peninsula Shire Council

Greater hinterland agricultural area intersection upgrade project


Moyne Shire Council

Upgrading Rollos Road and Childers Cove Road


Nillumbik Shire Council

Shaws Road sealing


Northern Grampians Shire Council

Moyston – Great Western Bridge Replacement Project

Banyena Road Rehabilitation Project


Pyrenees Shire Council

Replacement of Bridge on Moonambel Warrenmang Road


South Gippsland Shire Council

Clancys Road, Korumburra – rehabilitation


Southern Grampians Shire Council

Victoria Point Road Upgrade


Surf Coast Shire Council

Cape Otway Road widening and rehabilitation – Taylors Road to Considines Road


Swan Hill Rural City Council

Winlaton Road upgrade


Towong Shire Council

Georges Creek Road upgrade

A weighbridge and truck wash for Corryong

Wises Creek upgrade to seal


Wangaratta Rural City Council

Piepers Bridge replacement

Detour Road Bridge


Warrnambool City Council

Buckleys Road Improvement Project


Wellington Shire Council

Cairnbrook Road Intersection upgrade


West Wimmera Shire Council

Charam – Wombelano Road/Camerons and Lampards Road Intersection upgrade


Yarriambiack Shire Council

Minyip Banyena Road widening

Hopetoun Yaapeet Road widening

Sea Lake Lascelles Road widening




Page last updated: 16 Jan 2023