Animal ethics

In using animals for scientific purposes, the Department of Energy, Environment and Climate Action (DEECA) must implement processes to ensure compliance with the Australian Code for the Care and Use of Animals for Scientific Purposes – 8th edition, 2013 (the Code) and the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act 1986 (the Act). The Act requires that the use of animals for scientific procedures be authorised by a scientific procedures premises licence (SPPL).

The Agriculture Research and Extension Animal Ethics Committee (AEC) is comprised of representatives from Agriculture Victoria, welfare organisations and the community and operates for the following SPPLs: SPPL 20335 and SPPL 20347.

Terms of Reference

Page last updated: 11 Jun 2024